Sunday, 16 August 2015

Peoria TT - Today

Henry Wiles
Jared Mees
Jake Johnson (who has sat out half the season, but is now standing in for Brad Baker in the factory Harley team). 
If your name isn't Henry Wiles, you're the underdog today. He's won the last ten Peoria TTs on the bounce and won a non-National short track last night, ahead of Sammy Halbert (who was running #69 in honour of his late brother) and Scott Baker.

The rider who I think could have pushed Wiles the hardest, Brad Baker, broke his leg hitting some debris (that was rumoured by be from a dirt track racecar, but I haven't heard for sure) at the recent Black Hills GNC round in Sturgis.
Jared Mees will be up for a fight, but will be happy with a podium to keep his title defence on track.

This is likely to be the last Peoria TT National the Experts will ride 450s at because of somewhat controversial proposed changes to the AMA GNC rules, that will mean Experts ride twins in ALL race, TT or short track.

Today's race is available to watch live on
Here are the timings to watch online.

Practice/qualifying: 11:30 a.m. ET (8:30 a.m. PT)
Pre-race show: 1:45 p.m. ET (10:45 a.m. PT) 
Opening ceremonies: 2:30 p.m. ET (11:30 a.m. PT) 
Heat races: 3 p.m. ET (noon PT)
GNC2 main: 5 p.m. ET (2 p.m. PT) 
GNC1 main: 5:30 p.m. ET (2:30 p.m. PT)

These photos, from Peoria 2014, courtesy of AMA Pro Racing. G


Randon Swearingian said...

A while back you said the Peoria TT was a "shit motocross race."
I can't disagree more. You have it absolutely backwards. Motocross is a shit Peoria TT.
Today was evidence of that.
Watching Mees chase Wiles for 25 laps was an absolute pleasure. I will always cherish knowing I was there.
I love you. I have each issue on my shelf, except Sideburn #1. You have done a lot to promote flat track world wide, but I have been pissed about this since you said it.

Sideburn Magazine said...

Hi Randon
Check out my next post where I discuss your comments.